Chef's Rights

The chef has the right to lick the bowl and spoon.

Super Fudgy “Special Brownies”

Now before you get all judgy, just wait. There’s nothing elicit about these brownies, but there is a story behind why they’re “special”.

Embarrassing Story

This recipe is based on one in my Mom’s Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, but I’ve been using and modifying this recipe since I was a kid, and I’ve always baked it for my friends on their birthdays and as thank-yous for favors, or even just to cheer them up when they’re down. One of my friends in high school was born on April 18th, which that year fell on a Saturday my senior year. I didn’t have time to bake these brownies during the week because of homework, so I baked them over the weekend and brought them in on Monday. April 20th. (Confession: I was really naïve in high school and the implications of 4/20 were the last thing on my mind that weekend.)

Some of my other friends also deserved brownies – one had done me a huge favor recently and the other one was having a hard time because she hadn’t gotten into her dream college. (You remember that feeling, that your life was ending and nothing could ever make it better. I thought I’d at least try using brownies to dull the pain.)

Anyways, I gave one friend her brownies during homeroom and the other two friends I saw during first period. So by second period they were completely off my mind.

Skip ahead to eighth period. The principal comes and pulls me out of class to talk about my brownies. The conversation goes something like this:
Principal: Do you know why I’m here?
Me: No.
Principal: Did you give your friends brownies today?
Me: Yes.
Principal: I’m here to tell you that you’re brownies have been confiscated.
Me: Why?!?
Principal: *completely ignores my question* Why did you give your friends brownies today?
Me: Well, one of their birthdays was over the weekend, another didn’t get into her top choice college, and the other one helped me study for a test last week.
Principal: So you gave them brownies? Today?
Me: Yes…
Principal: Do you know what day today is?
Me: Monday?
Principal: And the date?
Me: April 20th…? Oh.
Principal: Yes. Now do you understand?
Me: Yes. But my brownies are just brownies.
Principal: It is school policy that no one is allowed to bring baked goods today.
Me: Okay…
Principal: You may now return to class.
Me: Thanks…

Lesson: All desserts is considered contraband on April 20th. Especially in high school.

To this day I still make these brownies for my friends’ birthdays, but never on April 20th.

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)
  • 4 oz unsweetened Baker’s chocolate
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 1½ cups flour
  • 1½ cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Carefully melt chocolate and butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Remove from heat. Mix in sugar, then vanilla; beat in eggs. Stir in flour, then chocolate chips. Bake in a greased 9x13in pan for 25 min. or until a toothpick comes out a little sticky but not clumpy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2012 by .

Navigation

