Chef's Rights

The chef has the right to lick the bowl and spoon.

Healthy Banana Bread

My mom always used to send chocolate chip banana bread with me to school in my lunchbox and ever since I’ve been hooked. I’ve been using this recipe for a while and must admit that I’m not sure where I got it from. Since I’ve adjusted some of the measurements (doubled the vanilla as always, adjusted the baking soda, added wheat germ, etc.), I feel like it’s my own.

I usually make it without the chocolate chips, but I left them on the ingredients list in case you prefer to add them.

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1 cup + 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips, optional

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ºF, spray loaf pan with cooking spray.

Mash bananas with fork.  I like leaving them slightly chunky because it gives the bread more texture. Set aside.

Combine flour, wheat germ, sugar, and baking soda in medium bowl.

Add unsweetened applesauce, eggs, vanilla, bananas, and chocolate chips and mix until well combined. Do not over-mix.

Pour batter into greased loaf pan, making sure to push the batter up against the sides of the pan.  This bread rises a lot, so if you don’t do this, you can end up with bread that’s very tall in the middle and unnecessarily short on the sides.

Sprinkle remaining tsp of sugar over the top, leaving an even coat.  I love doing this because it makes the crust all crackly and crunchy and delicious!  But it’s completely optional.

Bake for 50-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out completely clean. (Check after 50 minutes because sometimes that really is enough.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2012 by and tagged .

Navigation

